News Archive 2018



The AGM was held on Monday 12th. The following officers were elected:

  • President Rob Renke

  • Captain Chris Chamberlain

  • Secretary John Palmer

  • Treasurer/Bar Officer Pete Driver

  • Welfare Officer Irene Wood

Committee Members: Terry Hammond, Fiona Hammond, Kath Driver, Tom McGill, Geoff Carnell, Sue King, Kev Brazier, Richard Morris & Rob Fuller.

Bowling Meeting

At the pre-season bowling meeting held on Monday 26th February, the following team captains were elected:

Premier Mick Harries

Mid-Shrops Div 1 Pete Driver

Mid-Shrops Div 2 Sue King

Mid-Shrops Div 5 Mick Corfield

Dudley League Cheryl Caswell

Highley Islanders A Rob Fuller

Highley Islanders B Jamie Tayor

Highley Bylet A Georgina Marsh

Highley Bylet B Fiona Hammond

Seniors A Russ Morris

Seniors B Geoff Carnell

Seniors C Dick Pinches

Telford Ladies Fiona Hammond

Ludlow Jane Wherton


Harris Cup Semi-Final Success

Well done to the Harris Cup squad on reaching the final with an overall 12 shot victory over Hadley United Services Club in the semi-final.

Seniors Success

Bylet will be sure of winning the Mid-Shropshire Seniors Charity Shield because both Bylet A (Division 1) and Bylet B (Division 3) have reached the final to be played on Thursday 27th September. In the semi-finals, the A side had a comfortable 26 shot victory with all six winners against Mortimer at Squirrel while the B side made full use of their +24 handicap to edge out Division 1 opponents White Horse HUSC by 1 shot at Shifnal.

Congratulations to both teams.

President's and Captain's Cups

Congratulations to Cheryl Caswell on winning the President's Cup and Rob Renke for winning the Captain's Cup. More details here.


22nd. Harris Cup

Commiserations to Scott Harries and his team on their narrow defeat by Bowring in the Harris Cup Final at SJB. See photo below.

23rd Ludlow League Handicap Cup Success

Congratulations to Jane Wherton and her Ludlow League team on winning the League Handicap Cup at Chelmarsh. In the semi-final Bylet beat Cleobury by 6 shots in what League Secretary Steve Burmingham called a 'shock victory' (Cleobury failing to overcome a -40 shot handicap). In the final Bylet overcame Bromfield by 86 shots making a bit of a mockery of their +106 shot handicap with excellent wins by Sue Corfield, Dave Durant, Fiona Hammond, Geoff Carnell & Neal McLachlan. See photo below.

27th Seniors Charity Shield Final

In the first ever Charity Shield Final contested between two teams from the same club, it was Bylet B of Division 3, who prevailed over Bylet A of Division 1 in a closely fought match at SJB no.1. See photos below.

Bylet Captain Scott Harries receives the Harris Cup Runner-up Trophy from Mid-Shropshire League Deputy Chairman Dave Evans

Jane Wherton's victorious team in the Ludlow Handicap Cup.

Bylet B Captain Geoff Carnell receives the Charity Shield from League President John Ford.

Bylet A Captain Russ Morris receives the Charity Shield Runners-up trophy from League Officer Ron Adams