News Archive 2012


At the recent Bowling Meeting, the following changes were agreed:

  • We will apply to enter a team in the Mid-Shropshire League Saturday Division. We will play on the Number 2 green.

  • The Premier side will move back to the Number 1 green.

  • Islanders A in the Highley League will move back to the Number 1 green.

  • Bylet A in the Highley League will move to the Number 2 green.

  • The Ludlow League side will move back to the Number 2 green.

The following Team Captains were elected:

Team Captain Green

Premier Kev Brazier 1

Mid-Shropshire Div 1 John Palmer 1

Mid-Shropshire Div 3 Henry Morris 2

Mid-Shropshire Div 5 Alan Jones 1

Mid-Shropshire Sat Les Bromley 2

Dudley League Div 2 Brian Walters 1

Highley: Islanders A Rob Fuller 1

Highley: Islanders B Cheryl Caswell 1

Highley: Bylet A Georgina Marsh 2

Highley: Bylet B Rob Renke 2

Seniors A Dave Elliott 1

Seniors B Les Bromley 2

Seniors C Bernard Speke 2

Ludlow Irene Wood 2

Telford Ladies Fiona Hammond 2



Most of the competition dates for 2012 have been finalised.

Important Note. For financial reasons, the committee have taken the decision not to run club competitions that have less than eight entries.


A personal note from the captain.

Many thanks to everyone who made the recent Captain's Day such a success. Especially Irene Wood for organising the catering; Margaret Baker for the puddings; Sue Palmer, Ruth Garbett, Anne Parton, Fiona Hammond and Beryl Steadman for their hard work in the kitchen and also to all the members who made it a special day. Even the sun shone! Congratulations to Scott Harries on winning the cup and to Rob Fuller for reaching the final.

John Palmer 15/7/12


Congratulations to Rob Fuller for stopping moaning for long enough to win the President's Day Cup beating Scott Harries 21-17 in the final. Thanks to President Rob Renke for hosting a lovely day.

Congratulations to Scott Harries on winning the prestigious Bowring Open. Well done too to Cheryl (Masterchef) Caswell who was beaten by Scott in the semi-final.

Well done to everyone who played in the George Hawker Memorial Trophy and helped retain the trophy. Bylet won by 35 chalks at home and by 15 away. Thanks to the members of the 'Top Green' for making it a memorable night. See you down at the Bylet next year!


Thanks to everyone who made the Annual Dinner such a success. Below are the prize winners for this season. L to R: Albert Cornes (Jubilee Doubles), Scott Harries (Captain's Cup), Matt Ealey (Challenge Cup), Rob Fuller (President's Day Cup, Arthur Greatwich Trophy), Sue & Mick Corfield (Owen Evans Doubles) and Tom McGill (Jubilee Doubles).