News Archive 2013



47 members attended the AGM on Tuesday 12th. The following officers were elected:

  • President Rob Renke

  • Captain John Palmer

  • Secretary Tom McGill

  • Treasurer/Bar Officer Pete Driver

  • Child Protection Officer Irene Wood

Committee Members: Terry Hammond, Fiona Hammond, Kath Driver, Kevin Brazier, Alan Jones, Sue Palmer, Geoff Carnell & Chris Chamberlain.

It was agreed that a new class of membership Affiliated Member would be introduced.


Scott Harries won the Arthur Greatwich Trophy, beating Ollie Speke 21-13 in the final.


Club Doubles

John Palmer & George Marsh won the competition, beating Alec Speke & Matt Ealey 15-8 in the final.


Ladies Day

On a lightning fast green, Irene Wood won the cup, beating Judy Morris 21-16 in the final.

Captain's Day

Matt Ealey beat Ollie Speke in the final. Losing semi-finalists were George Eddowes and Irene Wood.


Challenge Cup

Albert Cornes beat Barry Walters 21-11 in the final. Losing semi-finalists were Brian Walters and Tom McGill.


President's Day

Albert Cornes lifted his second trophy of the season, beating George Eddowes 21-13 in the final. Losing semi-finalists were John Palmer and Pete Driver.

Owen Evans Floodlight Doubles

Andy James & Tim Ealey won the last club competition of the season beating Scott Harries & Brian Walters 21-16 in the final.