News Archive 2016



Chris Chamberlain took over the office of Captain/Chairman at last night's AGM. Retiring Captain John Palmer standing down after six years wished him all the best in his new role. Other officers elected were:

President Rob Renke

Treasurer / Bar Secretary Pete Driver

Secretary Tom McGill

Welfare Officer Irene Wood

Existing members of the committee re-elected were: Terry Hammond, Fiona Hammond, Geoff Carnell, Georgina Marsh, Kath Driver and Sue King.

New members elected to the committee were: John Palmer and Mick Harries.

The proposal from the committee to raise bowling subscriptions to £35 (plus £1 SCGBA supplement) was accepted.


Challenge Cup

Scott Harries ran out the winner of the 2016 Challenge Cup with a 21-6 final win over Cheryl Caswell. Losing semi-finalists were Peter Driver and Matt Ealey.


President's Day

Scott Harries won the President's Day Cup with a 21-10 final win over the President Rob Renke.

George Hawker Memorial

Bylet retained the George Hawker Memorial Trophy - the annual social match versus the Top Green - by 61 chalks (+42 at home and +19 away). Many thanks to all the players and especially to the members of the Top Green for their hospitality.


Captain's Day

Well done to Pete Driver for winning the Captain's Day Cup beating Captain Chris Chamberlain 21-10 in the final

Owen Evans Floodlight Doubles

Club President Rob Renke teamed up with Scott Harries to win the final competition of the season with a 21-6 victory over Tim Ealey and Rob Steventon in the final.