News Archive 2010


The new club website was launched on Google Sites. The old one is no longer available.

Please note that for technical reasons, the web address is (the www is required). The old site didn't have this restriction so you may have to update any bookmarks that referenced


Rob Fuller beat Rob Smith in the final of the Arthur Greatwich Trophy. See the competitions page for more information.

Dave Elliott & Jonny Garbett beat John Palmer & Dave Stone 21-12 in the final of the Club Doubles. See the competitions page for more information.


Club Captain John Palmer made it a Captain's Day to remember when he managed to win the competition, beating Sue Stone in the final . See the competitions page for more information.

Bylet retained the Hawker Trophy with convincing wins both at home and at the Top Green. The new format of eight singles plus four doubles was well received and enjoyed by all on a lovely June evening.

Many thanks to the Top Green members for their hospitality. See you down at the Bylet next year.


The George Eddowes pavilion was broken into overnight on Monday 19th July. Almost everything of value apart from the match jacks was stolen but many of the items were later found abandoned in the river.

Tom McGill regained the Challenge Cup by beating Matt Ealey in the final.

Congratulations to Pete Driver on winning his first ever singles competition, taking the President's Day cup by beating Tom McGill in the final.


The Bylet Senior Citizens team beat Old Shrewsbury by 19 shots after being 13 shots down after the first three at Prees in the semi-final of the Shropshire County Senior Citizens Consolation Team Knock-Out Semi-Final. The final will be played at Telepost in Shrewsbury against Constitutional Club, Market Drayton, on Tuesday 7th of September.

Barbara Dearne and Sue Stone (pictured below) won the Telford Ladies Afternoon League doubles shield (and they were really chuffed)!


The Bylet Senior Citizens won the Shropshire County Senior Citizens Consolation Team Knock-Out Cup, beating Constitutional Club, Market Drayton at Telepost Shrewsbury. Very well done chaps!

In the final competition of the season, Scott Harries & Brian Walters won the Owen Evans Floodlight Doubles, beating Matt Ealey & Jon Garbett 21-12 in the final. See the competitions page for more information.

Islanders A won the Highley League's Fiftieth Anniversary Knockout Trophy with an excellent 24 chalk victory over Abbey at Highley BC. Well done to stand-in Captain Kevin Brazier and all the rest of the team. Details are on the Highley League website here.

Bylet's Shropshire Premier Squad have won the Pool 'B' competition to finish off a memorable season. They beat Sir John Bayley on 'countback' at Prees. The match finished all square on shots and with four winners apiece but Bylet won due to Kev Brazier having the best card 21-8.