The competitions calendar for 2011 is as follows:

Arthur Greatwich Trophy Sunday 15th May

Nineteen members enjoyed a good afternoon's bowling and eventually Craig Owen defeated Scott Harries 21-11 in a hard fought final. In the semi-finals, Craig narrowly beat Terry Hammond after being 13-2 down and Scott got the better of Pete Driver.

Terry, Craig, Pete & Scott

Captains Day Sunday 3rd July

Thirty four members enjoyed a beautiful day's bowling and tea provided by the captain. Many thanks to Kath & Pete, Fiona, Irene, Beryl, Sue and Ruth for the tea and Margaret for the puddings. Also thanks to Barbara, Terry and Audrey for the flowers. After starting in the prelims, our President Rob Renke took some notable scalps and emerged victorious, beating Matt Ealey in the final. In the semi-finals, Rob had beaten Terry Hammond, and Matt Albert Cornes.

Matt, Albert, Terry and Rob before the semi-finals.

Our President, in fine form all day!

Challenge Cup Sunday 31st July

Eighteen members contested the 2011 Challenge Cup. Chris Chamberlain bowled superbly all day beating Tom McGill 21-16 in the final. Losing semi-finalists were Brian Walters (beaten by Chris) and Cheryl Caswell. Thanks to Tony Moore and John Gaynor for their sterling work on the barbecue and to Tom for providing the food.

Chris, Cheryl, Tom and Brian.

John and Tony hard at work at the barbecue.

Ladies Day Sunday 7th August

Nine ladies played in the competition grouped into section A and B. Fiona Hammond won section A dropping one shot and Barbara Eddowes won all her games in section B. In an excellent final interrupted by a very heavy shower which flooded the green, Barbara beat Fiona 21-17.

Barbara & Fiona

Men's Challenge & Ladies Hickman Cup Sunday 21st August

Beryl Steadman won the Hickman Cup 'round robin' winning all her games. There were only four entries. Fourteen members competed for the Men's Challenge Cup and Matt Ealey emerged triumphant, beating Graham Parton 21-14 in the final. Losing semi-finalists were Pete Driver and Terry Hammond.


Graham & Matt

President's Day Sunday 4th September

On a lovely late summer's day, twenty members competed for the President's Day Trophy. Matt Ealey beat John Palmer 21-20 in an excellent final. Beaten semi-finalists were Peter Jones and Chris Giddings. Many thanks to our President Rob Renke for an excellent tea and for the ladies who prepared it. (Barbara Eddowes, Judy Morris, Fiona Hammond, Anne Parton, Lilian Davis, Barbara Booth, Sue & Ruth Garbett, Margaret Baker for the puddings and Irene Wood for doing the shopping).


Club Captain John Palmer (Runner up), President Rob Renke and Matt Ealey (Winner).