News Archive 2017



Took place on Tuesday 14th. The following officers were elected:

  • President Rob Renke

  • Captain Chris Chamberlain

  • Secretary Tom McGill

  • Treasurer/Bar Officer Pete Driver

  • Welfare Officer Irene Wood

Committee Members: Terry Hammond, Fiona Hammond, Kath Driver, Geoff Carnell, Sue King, John Palmer, Jane Wherton & Rob Fuller.

Bowling Meeting

The pre-season bowling meeting held on Tuesday 28th. The following team captains were elected:

Shropshire Premier League Mick Harries

Mid-Shropshire Division 1 Pete Driver

Mid-Shropshire Division 3 Sue King

Mid-Shropshire Division 5 Alan Jones

Dudley League Premier Brian Walters

Highley Islanders A (Division 1) Kevin Brazier

Highley Islanders B (Division 1) Jamie Taylor

Highley Bylet A (Division 2) Georgina Marsh

Highley Bylet B (Division 2) Fiona Hammond

Mid-Shropshire Seniors A Russ Morris

Mid-Shropshre Seniors B Geoff Carnell

Ludlow Irene Wood

Telford Ladies Fiona Hammond

Rob Fuller has been arranging the supply of new club shirts, jackets etc. It was hoped that all members would purchase (at least) a shirt. Sample garments would be available for viewing in the club shortly and a list was posted so that we could do a bulk order and avoid postage charges.


Arthur Greatwich Memorial Trophy

Scott Harries lifted the trophy beating Rob Renke in the final.

Club Doubles

Was won by Pete Driver & Lol Preece. Runners up were Tony Steadman & Ken Jenkins.

County Veterans Merit

Congratulations and very well done to Tony Steadman on winning this prestigious trophy at Greenfields BC. See photo below.


Winner: Cheryl Caswell Runner up: Tony Steadman

Mid-Shropshire Senior Doubles

Well done to Geoff Carnell & Pete Driver who lifted the Trophy at Sinclair. See photo below.

Tony Steadman with the County Veterans Cup.

Pictured are Geoff & Pete receiving the Seniors Doubles Trophy from League President Nick Stacey.