News Archive 2014



The following propositions for the AGM were been proposed by the club committee:

  1. That the categories of membership be reduced from the present nine categories to three and that these are Full, Junior and Social Members.

  2. That the subscription rates for the three membership types above be set to £32.50, £1,00 and £15 respectively for 2014-2015 and that 30 pence be added to match fees to compensate.

  3. That the Club Captain and President cease to pay for their 'Days' and that members fund these events on a £2 to play and £2.50 for tea basis.

All three propositions were carried.

The following officers were elected:

  • President Rob Renke

  • Captain John Palmer

  • Secretary Tom McGill

  • Treasurer/Bar Officer Pete Driver

  • Child Protection Officer Irene Wood

Committee Members: Terry Hammond, Fiona Hammond, Kevin Brazier, Alan Jones, Sue Palmer, Geoff Carnell, Chris Chamberlain & Georgina Marsh.

Mid-Shropshire League

Donnington Wood have had a rethink on their decision to enter a new team in division 3 and have opted for division 6 instead. Unfortunately, this confirms that our A side will be relegated to division 2.

Our other teams will play in Division 3 on a Friday and Division 4 on a Monday. This confirms that the Monday team has been promoted from Division 5.

On Fridays, Division 2 will have to play Albrighton, Bowring, Bridgnorth, Broseley, Charlton, Maddocks, Newport, SJB, Sinclair, Stockton, Trench and Wrockwardine Wood and Division 3 at Allscott, Bowring, Chelmarsh, Edgmond, Horsehay, Madeley, Much Wenlock, Newport, SJB, Shifnal, St Georges and Trench.

The Monday side will play Albrighton, Allscott, Bridgnorth, Broseley, Donnington, Horsehay, Madeley, SJB, Sinclair, St Georges and Wrockwardine Wood.

The new season will start on Friday April 4th. Divisions 4, 5 & 6 start on Monday April 7th.

Bowling Meeting

At the pre-season bowling meeting held on the 24th, the following team captains were elected:

Shropshire Premier Mick Harries

Mid-Shropshire Division 2 Pete Driver

Mid-Shropshire Division 3 John Palmer

Mid-Shropshire Division 4 Alan Jones

Dudley League Brian Walters

Highley - Islanders A Scott Harries

Highley - Islanders B Tom McGill

Highley - Bylet A Georgina Marsh

Highley - Bylet B Rob Renke

Ludlow Irene Wood

Telford Ladies Fiona Hammond

Seniors A Dave Elliott

Seniors B Les Bromley

Seniors C Dick Pinches


President's Day

Scott Harries bowled well all day to win the cup with a 21-16 win over Chris Chamberlain in the final.