News Archive‎ > ‎




The Bylet Baggies Corner became part of the West Bromwich Albion Supporters Club. See the Baggies Corner for more.


A new type of membership was introduced at the 2011 Annual General Meeting, Social Bowling Member. This is equivalent to a Social Membership but allows the member to participate in social bowling and club competitions.


It is with regret that the committee have decided to withdraw the Bylet D team from the Mid-Shropshire League Division 5. Every effort has been made to find someone to captain the side but it has become apparent that there are insufficient members willing to play on Mondays to enable us to run two teams.


Starting on Monday 20th June, the club intends to run a weekly social doubles competition. All bowling members are welcome. Pairing will be seeded where possible so that inexperienced players team up with a more experienced partner. Entry will be £1 per player and all money taken will be paid out in prizes. Bowling will start at about 7.30pm but you'll need to be there by about 7.15 in order for the draw to be made. The intention is to use the number 1 green when the Division 5 side are away, otherwise the number 2.


Chris Chamberlain won the Challenge Cup beating our Secretary Tom McGill 21-16 in the final. Many thanks to Tony Moore and John Gaynor for cooking the BBQ goodies and Tom for providing the food.
The first competition of the season, the Arthur Greatwich Memorial Trophy has been won by Craig Owen who beat Scott Harries 21-11 in the final. See the Competitions page for more details.


Barbara Eddowes has won the Ladies Day trophy beating Fiona Hammond 21-17 in an excellent final. Special thanks to Pete and Kath Driver and Margaret for organising a lovely tea.
The Men's Challenge Cup was won by Matt Ealey who beat Graham Parton 21-14 in the final. In the Ladies Hickman Cup, Beryl Steadman won the 'round robin' tournament. Thanks to Pete and Kath Driver, Fiona Hammond, Barbara Hancox and Margaret for an unexpected tea.


Many thanks to Georgina & George Marsh for the very successful Garden Party held at their home on Sunday 25th.
More congratulations  Dave Elliot's Senior Citizen's 'A' side who have added the Mid-Shropshire League Division 1 title to their impressive list of successes this season.

Congratulations to Dave Elliott's Senior Citizen's 'A' side who are the inaugural winners of the Huntsman of Little Wenlock Charity Shield. Their second trophy of the season was achieved by a 23 shot victory over Sir John Bayley at Bowring. Details:

Bylet                 SJB
Brian Morris    15    Algie Davies    21
Geoff Carnell   21    Dick Oliver     11
Terry Field     21    Tony Furruggio  14
Russell Morris  21    Jim Lord        10
Dave Elliott    21    Vince Cruise    13
Tom McGill      14    Mike Hinton     21
Totals:        113                    90

Matt Ealey has added the President's Day trophy to his collection this season with a narrow 21-20 win over Club Captain John Palmer. Beaten semi-finalists were Peter Jones and Chris Giddings.

Bylet's Mid-Shropshire Senior Citizen 'A' side, captained by Dave Elliott have won the League Team Knockout Shield with a 19 shot victory over Allscott in the final at St Georges. Details:

Bylet                 Allscott
Brian Morris     20   Brian Thomas    21
Tony Steadman    21   George Grocutt  20 
Terry Field      21   Terry Clarke    17
Russell Morris   21   Bob Webb         9
Dave Elliott     21   Geoff Watkins   15
Tom McGill       18   Ted Jones       21  
Totals:         122                  103 


A very successful Annual Dinner and Prize Presentation was held at the club on Saturday 15th October. Pictured below are the prize winners with their trophies. L to R, Chris Giddings (Junior 'A' trophy), Ruth Garbett (Swans junior team vice-captain), Matt Ealey (President's Cup & Mens Challenge), Georgia Driver (Swans junior team captain), Chris Chamberlain (Challenge Cup), Rob Renke (Captain's Day Cup), Brian Walters (Owen Evans Doubles), Beryl Steadman (Ladies Hickman Cup), Scott Harries (Owen Evans Doubles), Barbara Eddowes (Ladies Day) and Craig Owen (Arthur Greatwich Trophy).